Heard from the bench

The bouncy 1937 tune “I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm” by prolific composer Irving Berlin finds its way into my piano programs from December through February. Maybe even March. Midwest winters do linger.

View from my front porch, January 2013Photo by Tom Sharkey

View from my front porch, January 2013
Photo by Tom Sharkey

I played the song for a group of women gathered in the activities room of their senior apartment complex. Using the packets of large-print lyrics I had typed up for them, they sang with gusto. As I sounded the final chords, I heard an audience member say to her friend sitting in the next folding chair, “Well, I guess I’m out of luck.”

Copyright © 2013 by Paulette Bochnig Sharkey
All rights reserved.

This entry was posted in Overheard and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heard from the bench

  1. Sandy Shores says:

    Very cute, Paulette!

Anything you'd like to add?

