I like the likes of you

A common location for the television in a senior facility is right next to the piano. And when I arrive that TV is usually on, with the volume cranked up. More often than not, it’s tuned to The Price Is Right. Oh, the cheering. The inane banter. The invitations to COME ON DOWN!!

A blaring TV always unsettles me but I try to ignore it, put down my big bag of sheet music, and get organized to play. The group parked in front of the television silently shifts its attention to me. I move all the framed photos, candles, figurines, and dusty dried flower arrangements from the top of the piano so that I have room for my piles of music. Then I make sure I have enough light, and pull out my first selections. I wait for a commercial break before announcing that I’m going to turn off the TV for an hour while I play the piano.

I’ve never had an objection, rarely even a response. One day from across the room a woman called out, “Thank God!”

My kindred spirit.

Copyright © 2013 by Paulette Bochnig Sharkey
All rights reserved.

This entry was posted in Audiences, Volunteering. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I like the likes of you

  1. Sandy Shores says:

    Ha, ha, ha!!! This gave me a chuckle. I know how it is with the elderly and their TV’s……they have them on so loud you can hear it three blocks away when their windows are open!!!

Anything you'd like to add?

