Compliment what she does, send her roses just because

The Friday before last, I received a couple of memorable compliments from listeners during my program. First, as I finished one of my selections, a man stood up, raised his arms, and shouted across the room, “You’re awesome!” Not only was I pleased to be told so, but his vocabulary choice made me smile. “Awesome” is not a word I typically hear from my elderly audiences. Like, seriously.

Then there was Sally. She’s nearing 100 years old and slowing down a bit, but she still dances, still sings, still charms and inspires me every time I see her. I wrote about her in a 2013 blog post, “I’m in a Dancing Mood.”

Sally made her way to the piano and greeted me with “Hello, Gorgeous.” I am not. But it certainly felt good to have her say it anyway. And I immediately thought of Barbra Streisand.

As the hoopla over this year’s Academy Awards ceremony dies down, I’m going to stick with a movie theme for this week and consider the American Film Institute’s list of top 100 movie quotes.

In the #1 slot is “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn” (from Gone With the Wind). You have to go down through “There’s no place like home” (#23, The Wizard of Oz), “We’ll always have Paris” (#43, Casablanca), “There’s no crying in baseball” (#54, A League of Their Own), all the way to #81 to get to Sally’s bit of flattery for a volunteer pianist:

Classic Funny Girl Barbra. Classic Sally.

Copyright © 2015 by Paulette Bochnig Sharkey
All rights reserved.

 

This entry was posted in Audiences, Volunteering. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Compliment what she does, send her roses just because

  1. Jessa says:

    OMG, Sally must have great grandchildren to teach her those things. 😉

Anything you'd like to add?

